Imagine if you had x-ray vision about your competitors…and even your partners and clients!?
Well, lately, I feel like I do.
I’ve been using a free tool for a month now and it allows me to instantly see the following things about almost any Web site:
It’s called the SEO Toolbar (instructions on downloading it are below); it provides you a toolbar on your Firefox Browser that you can turn on or off while you’re using the Web.
Let me explain a few of the top ways I’m using this SEO Toolbar (using eBay as an example)
In the first screenshot, I hit the blue info button in the upper left-hand corner to get the pop-up yellow screen of information about eBay).
Doing so tells me the following about eBay (I’m going to pick highlights):
In the next screenshot, I’m showing the Rank Checker feature which allows us to type in any keyword (search term that people type into Google) and see where any given Web site ranks on the search results for that keyword.
So, as you can see in the screenshot, ebay would rank in the following position on Google (on the left-hand “organic results” if you searched those terms):
Rank Checker allows many keywords (at least 100 at a time) to be ranked.
Now, I highly recommend you couple this Rank Checker tool with Google’s Keyword Tool (which tells you how much any keyword is searched on Google) which SEO Toolbar also includes.
So now you can tell how well a Web site is doing in terms of its relevancy on the most popular keywords in your business!
If you use Google Analytics on your own Web site, you can simply copy and paste your top keywords from your Analytics account into Rank Checker and see where you’re ranking on Google.
The Rank Checker also shows you where a Web site ranks on Yahoo and Microsoft Bing — I just didn’t have room in the screenshot to show it!
There’s a lot more to the SEO Toolbar than this, but those are some highlights for me.
Here’s how you get SEO Toolbar:
Go to SEO Book Tools and download all three of the tools:
And if you have questions on any of this, feel free to post comments below and I’ll do my best to answer them.
If you like this article, you may want to check out my Got Googlejuice? posting.
Best of luck!
The purpose of Purchase.com is to help businesses grow, profit and organize.
And I’m noticing a lot of Classifieds-related searches on Google lately, such as the following list from April 2009 (the parentheses are an estimate of the monthly searches):
That’s a lot of searches!
People seem thirstier than ever for the ability to post classified ads (perhaps due to the economy) — and they usually prefer that they are free.
New Place to Post and Search Free Classifieds
Towards that end, I employed a friend of mine to help create a simple free business classifieds application that allows anyone with an email address to post a product or service for sale.
To post a free business classified, you simply go to the home page Purchase.com or specifically to Add a Free Business Classified.
Other classified Web sites, such as Craigslist (which I’m a big fan of), allow you to post most classified ads for free; however, Purchase.com plans to differentiate from them.
Such difference might include focusing on business to business classifieds, small business classifieds, free local classifieds and some other items (more on that later).
For now, go experiment with your free classified ad posting on Purchase.com — you can do it in just a few minutes.
We have kept the design very simple so please be forgive its ugliness…but the functionality should work.
And, as always I’d really like to hear what you think.
Cheers!
I recently finished reading Stealing MySpace, an interesting “inside-baseball” look at the building of MySpace and eventual sale to Rupert Murdoch’s News Corp. for $750MM.
While the MySpace story had a happy ending for most, it also reminded me of the surprisingly low e-CPM (effective CPM or cost per thousand) of many Web sites that either sell through third-parties or have ad inventory that’s difficult for advertisers to understand/value.
MySpace earned an e-CPM of about $.20 in its early days (November 2004).
To put an eCPM of $.20 into perspective, that means that MySpace had to generate 500,000 page views on its Web site to earn just $100 in advertising revenue…or 5 million page views to earn $1,000… or 50 million to earn $10,000.
Now, MySpace charged much higher CPMs (up to $2 or so) on many of its pages, but the average it received for all of its pages was closer to $.20, according to the book.
For those of you thinking of selling advertising on your Web sites, I thought I’d add a few other less-known e-CPMs or CPMs for you:
Now, interestingly, while all these e-CPMs and CPMs seem low, all of the companies mentioned were profitable. That’s because their cost of delivering 1,000 page views was very, very cheap.
Hosting CPM
MySpace, for example, spent only $.07 on what I call “Hosting CPM” (i.e. delivering each of its 1,000 page views) in its early days (November 2004); and since they had minimal other expenses at the time they were able to break even at that point.
My colleague’s Tips Web site (in the fourth bullet above) spends only 3.5 cents in Hosting CPM and minimal other costs, so he makes a profit.
To see the other costs in running a Web site check out my How Much to Pay for a Customer article.
Your e-CPM Scales as You Scale
The economies of scale work in your favor as you are able to command higher CPMs as your volume of page views (and brand value) increase.
For example, MySpace is now reportedly generating $75MM per month through about 40 billion page views for an e-CPM of about $1.88, according to this Silicon Alley Insider article.
So, they almost 10Xed their e-CPM from their early days!
Googlejuice!
If you had to master one concept in online marketing, this would surely be it.
I’ll give some Googlejuice tips below…but first, some of you might be asking: what is Googlejuice?
Googlejuice is a catchall for a handful of things that you and others can do to make your products, business or anything else show up high in Google’s rankings when people search.
By the way, there’s a great book called What Would Google …
-->Googlejuice!
If you had to master one concept in online marketing, this would surely be it.
I’ll give some Googlejuice tips below…but first, some of you might be asking: what is Googlejuice?
Googlejuice is a catchall for a handful of things that you and others can do to make your products, business or anything else show up high in Google’s rankings when people search.
By the way, there’s a great book called What Would Google Do? that recently came out — it has a few pages on Googlejuice and in general how to work better with Google.
So why is Googlejuice so important? Because it can send enormous traffic to your Web site — and you don’t have to pay marketing dollars for it!
Question for You:
When you search on the names of your product categories, products, company, executives or industry, does your organization show up first every time?
If the answer is yes, please contact me as I’d like your advice!
If the answer is no, you may find the rest of this article helpful.
What’s the secret? I don’t know.
Google Juice is based on secret algorithms, and we’ll probably get the formula around the time Coke gives out its secret recipe!
GoogleJuice Tips
But, there are some basic Googlejuice tips you can start working on now:
Now go enjoy a Googlejuice smoothie!